Swinging With My Angel

Standard

boy-on-swing11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“In fact, all babies see angels and spirits, but at about the time children start to talk they begin to be told what’s real and what’s not real, and so if things are not solid like their toys, then they are told that they are only pretend. Young children are conditioned and lose the ability to see and experience spiritual things.  Because education starts earlier nowadays, fewer people are talking to angels….”  -Lorna Byrne in Angels in My Hair:  The True Story of a Modern-Day Irish Mystic

 

Yesterday, I was pushing a young friend of mine on a swing.  She and I have an easy way of communicating with each other, though her speech is limited to “up” and “bye-bye” and simple utterances like that.  The swing next to her was empty but she insisted, with an “up” and much pointing that I push that swing also.  I began to wonder who was sitting there…was it her guardian angel?  I imagined her looking a lot like my companion, only with wings.  I thought she would be laughing as we were, swinging gayly.  Any time the swing slowed, the young one would notice, and point, “up, up!”  Yes, my dear, up up and away!

Then, I flashed back to my days swinging alone-but not alone-out in the country in Iowa.  The swing set faced a sweeping valley.  And if you were turned toward the wide open country, you could soar.  My dear friend Leo would swing with me.  Though he was a lion, I saw nothing strange about this.  He was as real as anything else I saw in this world-maybe more so.  I don’t remember him showing himself to me again, but on the swing, I could see his golden mane perfectly.  I felt him with me a good while, maybe until I went to kindergarten.

Dearest parents, give your children time to dream in the daylight!  Give spaciousness to their days, allowing for alone time and silence. Let the breeze be their companion, their play date!  They will feel their angels then.  And give just an inkling of imagination to this thought:  “What if their angels are real?  What if I could see them?”  Just this thought will create space for them to know that what they are seeing IS REAL.

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

